Subject Overview  

Hodge Hill Girls’ School teach English programmes of study to Key Stage 3 pupils which promote the pupils' appreciation and love of reading and prepares them for the demands of everyday life and their future careers. Our specialist English teachers deliver the new National Curriculum for English with enthusiasm and ensure lessons are taught in an inventive and inspiring way that encourages each pupil to develop their confidence in their written and oral communication.  

At Key Stage 4 the curriculum is designed to ensure pupils reach their full potential and attain the highest possible standards at GCSE level.  At Hodge Hill Girls' School a significant number of pupils make three or more levels of progress between Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 4, which is significantly higher than national average.  

Curriculum and Achievement days provide an additional opportunity to enhance pupils’ English skills through a variety or enrichment activities.  Examples include taking pupils to the theatre and visiting story tellers, authors and poets who talk and work with pupils to enhance their studies and inspire our pupils to write.    

Year 7

In Year 7 pupils will study the following units:

  • Unit 1- Recount (Autobiographical accounts)
  • Unit 2- Contemporary novel
  • Unit 3- Creative writing
  • Unit 4- Non-fiction
  • Unit 5- Introduction to poetry
  • Unit 6- Character voice   

Year 8

In Year 8 pupils will study the following units:

  • Unit 1- Famous women from history
  • Unit 2- First World War and anthology poetry
  • Unit 3- magazine and newspaper articles
  • Unit 4- 19th Century fictional text
  • Unit 5- Introduction to Shakespeare
  • Unit 6- Drama   

Year 9

In Year 9 pupils will study the following units:

  • Unit 1- Shakespeare
  • Unit 2- GCSE Novel
  • Unit 3- Power and Conflict poetry
  • Unit 4- Modern Text
  • Unit 5- Introduction to GCSE English Language

These can be studied in any order, it is up to the individual class teachers. Over the course of the year all units will be covered.

GCSE English Language and GCSE English Literature

The Programme of Study followed by pupils in Year 10 depends upon their teaching group.  

Currently all pupils in Years 10 and 11 study AQA GCSE English Literature and GCSE English Language.

This is now 100% examination for both GCSEs. There are also no tiered entry, as a result all students take same examination.

GCSE English Literature will be taken at the end of Year 10.

GCSE English Language will be taken at the end of Year 11.

GCSE English Language consists of two papers. Each paper is 1 hour 45 minutes long. There is a equal weighting of marks between reading and writing.

GCSE English Literature consists of two papers. The first paper: Shakespeare and nineteenth century literature is 1 hour 30 minutes, the second paper: Modern text and poetry is 2 hour 15
minutes. For the Literature examination no books are allowed in the exam.

In Year 10 students study:

  • AQA GCSE English Language Paper 1 and Paper 2 (From May onwards only)
  • AQA GCSE English Literature 15 poems from the Power and Conflict
  • Shakespeare text
  • Nineteenth century
  • Modern text

In Year 11 students study:

  • AQA GCSE English Language Paper 1 and Paper 2 (in more depth)
  • Students will also prepare for, and take, the spoken language element of the English Language GCSE

(Reviewed September 2018)